2011 PRISM contest winners!

Congratuations to the 2011 PRISM contest winners!


  • First Place: Chengyao Chen,
  • Honorable Mention: Chengyao Chen
  • Honorable Mention: Alicia Clifford
  • Honorable Mention: Jeffrey Dean
  • Honorable Mention: Robert Fox
  • Honorable Mention: Megan Meade
  • Honorable Mention: Shawna Mechele Killian (for two entries)

Freshman/Sophomore Essay

  • First Place: James Young, “The Bequeathing”
  • Second Place: Rebecca Young, “Human Truffle”
  • Honorable Mention: Tannarae Finch, “Afraid of Life”
  • Honorable Mention: Zachary Cheesman, “Beaten and Bruised: The Complexity of Lessons Learned”

The Mary Kilgallen Award: Freshman/Sophomore Research Paper

  • First Place: Tabitha London, “Imagining the Exotic: The Narrator’s Perception in Joyce’s ‘Araby’”
  • Second Place: Matthew Agnone, “Alternative Energy Sources”

Junior/Senior Essay

  • First Place: Michael Hylton, “’The Cask of Amontillado’: Vengeance Personified”
  • Second Place: Joel Gardner, “Important Achievement and the Individual”

Junior/Senior Research Paper

  • First Place: Michael Hylton, “The Electronic Language: Technology’s Effect on English”
  • Second Place: Jenna Schreur, “The Tragic Flaw and Fall of Doctor Faustus”


  • First Place: Michael Hylton, “An Exercise in Caution”
  • Second Place: Kristen Saunders, “Responsibility”


  • First Place: Michael Hylton, “The Saxophonist”
  • Second Place: Jonathan Kelly, “The Dancer”
  • Honorable Mention: Chelsea Dukes, “Smile”